WHAT A GOD!!!

WHAT A GOD!

“And Moses said unto God, Behold, when I come unto the children of Israel, and shall say unto them, The God of your fathers hath sent me unto you; and they shall say to me, What is his name? what shall I say unto them?
And God said unto Moses, I AM THAT I AM: and he said, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel, I AM hath sent me unto you.” (Exodus 3:14).

I know we use the name Jehovah (I Am That I Am) as God’s name, but if I will be frank with Bible history study, Moses actually never knew the meaning of what sound he heard.

He asked God for His name and what he heard sounded beyond natural in pronunciation and comprehension. To avoid naming God what He didn’t call Himself, Moses called it ‘I Am What I Am’. In other words, ‘so I don’t offend in misrepresentation due to humanly poor comprehension, I will simply call you – You are who you said you are!’

Names in Hebrew are not mere alphabets; they are descriptions. What then do you want to use to describe an Indescribable God. Human Language can never define Him. Didn’t you see in Rev. 19:12- “His eyes were as a flame of fire, and on his head were many crowns; and he had a name written, that no man knew, but he himself.”

Only Him can define himself. That’s why we call Him Jehovah/ I Am That I Am; since no human tongue can successfully define the one who Existence met on ground.

If at all any human word can be close to His title, that word is ‘The Incomprehensible One’.

What a God!

[Written by SEGUN ABE]

Leave a Reply

