Professor Poage, do you believe in God?

I recall taking a philosophy class some months back, it was one of my prerequisite courses. Throughout that semester, all we talked about were dialogues established by ancient philosophers, namely, Socrates, Plato, Gandhi, et al. In one of our class sessions, we had an ardent discussion on God’s existence; no one expected the professor to bring up such topic, but being a philosophy class it was welcomed. Surprisingly, only a few people contributed. As for me, my mouth watered with words that could in some ways convince my colleagues of God’s existence, but after realizing that I was under a school administration, I had to speak with caution. Nonetheless, that didn’t stop me from questioning my professor’s belief, so I asked “Professor Poage, do you believe in God?” He stuttered for a moment, wondering why I asked such question, but he had no choice but to respond. After beating around the bush for some minutes, cunningly trying to avoid to the question, he finally succumbed and said “I am skeptical about God’s existence.”

The moment he uttered that statement, I realized that my professor’s profession had a huge impact in shaping his belief system. Too much of scrutinizing philosophical contexts exposed him to various ideological sentiments, which include works of both atheists and God-believers. His mind was on the verge of confusion, not knowing who and what to believe. His belief was cemented in texts written by philosophers. He allowed mere man-made opinions control his rationality.

Knowledge is indeed vital, but if the wrong knowledge is acquired it could be fatal, fatal enough to make you refute God’s existence.
Professor Poage is as innocent as any other person out there, but his quest for academic knowledge unfortunately led him down the hill. Every acquired information reinstates the foundation of our innate belief, we should therefore be careful of what we allow into our minds. Educational teachings might seem innoxious, but not everything is aligned with God’s word.

“Let him who think he stands take heed lest he falls…trust in the Lord with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding.”

-Pacesetter Abbey
#PsAby

2 thoughts on “Professor Poage, do you believe in God?

Leave a Reply

